Choice Music Prize: let the betting commence…

As follows…

Congratulations to all the Shortlisted artists for the Choice Music Prize. In case you fancy have a bit of fun with the lead up to the event (and maybe paying for your next holiday into the bargain!) here are the bookie’s odds on the shortlisted albums, courtesy of Paddy Power:

2-1         Delorentos ‘In Love With Detail’
7-2         Cathy Davey ‘Tales of Silversleeve’
4-1         Roisin Murphy ‘Overpowered’
5-1         The Flaws ‘Achieving Vagueness’
7-1         David Geraghty ‘Kill Your Darlings’
12-1       Stanley Super 800 ‘Louder & Clearer’
14-1       Super Extra Bonus Party ‘Super Extra Bonus Party’
16-1       Kila ‘Gambler’s Ballet’
16-1       Adrian Crowley ‘Long Distance Swimmer’
20-1       Dry County ‘Unexpected Falls’

Be lucky!


The Choice Music Prize shortlist has been selected by a panel of 12 Irish music media professionals representing print, radio, online and TV. The full list of judges can be found on the Choice Music Prize website (
The overall Album of the Year will be selected by this judging panel at the Choice Music Prize event at Vicar Street, Dublin on Wednesday February 27th. The event will be live on Today FM as part of a “Tom Dunne Presents The Choice Music Prize” special broadcast.
The winning act will receive 10,000 euros, a prize fund which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA).

The act will also receive a specially commissioned award, courtesy of the Recorded Artists And Performers Ltd ( RAAP).
Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event will go on sale from all Ticketmaster outlets on Monday January 14th, priced 27 euros including booking fee.
Full information on the acts that will be performing at the live event will be announced later this month.

You can find out more about the act and hear music from their albums at the
following websites:
Adrian Crowley “Long Distance Swimmer” (Tin Angel)

Cathy Davey “Tales Of Silversleeve” (EMI)

Delorentos “In Love With Detail” (Cottage)

Dry County “Unexpected Falls” (Lazybird)

The Flaws “Achieving Vagueness” (Arrivals)

David Geraghty “Kill Your Darlings” (Decal)

Kila “Gambler’s Ballet” (Kila Records)

Roisin Murphy “Overpowered” (EMI)

Stanley Super 800 “Louder & Clearer” (Sofa)

Super Extra Bonus Party “Super Extra Bonus Party” (Alphabet Set)

The Choice Music Prize – Irish Album of the Year – was established to celebrate and acknowledge the work of Irish musicians.
Every single year, hundreds of albums are released by Irish artists in every genre, from indie, trad and pop to electronic and jazz.
The Choice Music Prize aims to highlight those albums which deserve some extra time in the spotlight and, ultimately, to select the album which best sums up the year in Irish music
Instead of using sales or airplay as criteria, the Choice Music Prize focuses, simply and solely, on the music.
This is the Choice Music Prize’s third year in operation. The first Choice Music Prize was won by Julie Feeney for her self-released “13 Songs” debut. She subsequently signed to Sony-BMG and will commence recording her second
album (her first for Sony-BMG) in the spring.
The Choice Music Prize for Irish Album of the Year 2006 was won by The Divine Comedy for the “Victory for the Comic Muse” album.
The Choice Music Prize is co-ordinated by Dave Reid and Jim Carroll. Jim Carroll will be the judging panel’s non-voting chairman.

One thought on “Choice Music Prize: let the betting commence…

Leave a Reply to Le Catch Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s