Rufus Wainwright: flying the flag for Turkey

In an odd twist of fate, I find myself in the airport this morning waiting to go to Turkey. I’m going to be spending three days in Istanbul and another harder-to-spell location learning about Turkey’s culture and the like. Apparently, according to the itinerary, this includes a concert at which Rufus Wainwright will be performing. Rufus, I had no idea you were Turkish. I’ll also be learning to cook Turkish food. Since I can’t cook Irish food, this should be entertaining. I think I’ve brought all the wrong clothes. People tell me to cover up (no knees, no arms on display); then other people say not to worry, that I won’t need to. So I’ve packed the weirdest assortment of clothes. Back on Thursday to Cork to go home for a day or two, then onwards and hopefully upwards to Oxegen 08.

Leave a Reply

